Wednesday, February 08, 2017

Scotland rejects Brexit

The Scottish Parliament has formally voted to reject Brexit:

The Scottish Parliament has formally rejected Theresa May’s plans to begin the UK’s withdrawal from the EU, with politicians from every party except the Conservatives uniting to vote against the triggering of Article 50.
A clear majority of MSPs supported the Scottish Government’s motion that the Prime Minister’s Bill giving the green light to the EU withdrawal process “should not proceed”, passing it by 90 votes to 34.

More than 62 per cent of Scots voted to remain part of the EU at last June’s referendum and only one of the nation’s 59 MPs, the Scottish Secretary David Mundell, supported the Bill at Westminster.

Its symbolic only: the courts have said Scotland's consent is not required, and for some reason the SNP decided not to do this as a formal Legislative Consent Motion. But it lays the groundwork for another independence referendum should England decide to force Scotland out of the EU.