Thursday, June 25, 2015


A ballot for four Members bills was held today and the following bills were drawn:

  • Local Government Act 2002 (Greater Local Democracy) Amendment Bill (Stuart Nash)
  • Public Collections and Solicitations (Disclosure of Payment) Bill (Matt Doocey)
  • Financial Assistance for Live Organ Donors Bill (Chris Bishop)
  • New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income (Pro Rata Entitlement) Amendment Bill (Denis O’Rourke)
Its a fairly dull collection, with Staurt Nash's one being the most controversial (it reinstates automatic referenda for local government amalgamations - something National hates because democracy is apparently bad). Doocey is dull but worthy. O'Rourke attacks the citizenship rights of his fellow kiwis (and especially young people who spend time working overseas). I'm not sure what to think of Bishop's yet, but it'll likely go to select committee for a proper inquiry, which is good.

There were 73 bills in the ballot today, with Labour's David Parker and NZ First's Darroch Ball and Fletcher Tabuteau being the only opposition members to fail to submit one.