Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Nomination day

Nominations for the Mt Albert byelection closed at noon today, and the Chief Electoral Office has announced the list of candidates:

  • Jim Bagnall/Independent
  • Ari Baker/Independent
  • John Boscawen/ACT New Zealand
  • Ben Boyce/The Bill and Ben Party
  • Simonne Dyer/Kiwi Party
  • Malcolm France/People Before Profit
  • Dakta Green/Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
  • Rusty Kane/The Peoples Choice Party
  • Melissa Lee/National Party
  • Russel Norman/Green Party
  • Julian Pistorius/Libertarianz
  • David Shearer/Labour Party
  • Judy Turner/United Future
  • Anthony Joseph James Van Den Heuvel/Human Rights Party
  • Jackson James Wood/Independent
For those wondering, Malcolm France is a coordinator for ClimAction, the Human Rights Party are a couple of people pushing for greater recognition of economic, social and cultural rights, and Rusty Kane is a regular crank around the election circuit, though normally he runs as an independent rather than under his old "People's Choice" vehicle. Jackson Wood of course lives in Wellington.