Monday, September 15, 2008

Vote for the President of New Zealand!

The first round of voting in the Republican Movement of Aotearoa's online presidential election has now closed, and the losing candidates have been eliminated. The field has been narrowed down to the final five candidates:

  • Professor James Belich
  • Jim Bolger
  • Dr Claudia Orange
  • Kiri Te Kanawa
  • Wilson Whineray

Candidate profiles can be found here.

There will now be a second round of preferential voting, closing on Halloween. Results will be announced before the general election. Unfortunately, this isn't a real election, so we won't actually get a president, but its doing a neat job of highlighting how we could go about it.