Tuesday, May 02, 2017

Labour's list

After yesterday's clusterfuck, the Labour Party has finally released its list. The most obvious feature is the generational shift within Labour - the old guard time servers are out, retired or shoved down, while MPs elected at the end of the Clark years are firmly in charge. There's also a greater emphasis on new blood rather than incumbent protection, which should help overcome the stale feeling of the party. And with more women in winnable slots, Labour should make real progress towards the balanced caucus required by its constitution. At the same time, some of the decisions are truly boggling - its hard to see what Stuart Nash has done to warrant his high ranking, given that he has undermined the party at every turn. But it's their circus and their monkeys, and its not like people have to vote for them...

Here's the usual table, for those who are interested in the rises and falls:

2017 RankName2014 RankDifference
1Andrew Little11+10
2Jacinda Ardern5+3
3Grant Robertson3--
4Phil Twyford7+3
5Megan Woods20+15
6Chris Hipkins9+3
7Carmel Sepuloni29+22
8David Clark26+18
9David Parker2-7
10Stuart Nash----
11Priyanca Radhakrishnan23+12
12Raymond Huo21+9
13Iain Lees-Galloway24+11
14Jan Tinetti----
15Aupito William Sio14-1
16Willow-Jean Prime34+18
17Damien O'Connor22+5
18Jenny Salesa31+13
19Kris Faafoi----
20Kiri Allan----
21Willie Jackson----
22Clare Curran----
23Ruth Dyson----
24Poto Williams28+4
25Louisa Wall12-13
26Michael Wood39+13
27Ginny Andersen----
28Jo Luxton----
29Deborah Russell33+4
30Liz Craig32+2
31Marja Lubeck----
32Trevor Mallard----
33Paul Eagle----
34Tamati Coffey30-4
35Jamie Strange54+19
36Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki49+13
37Kieran McAnulty----
38Angie Warren-Clark----
39Helen White----
40Greg O'Connor----
41Steph Lewis----
42Duncan Webb----
43Lemauga Lydia Sosene----
44Janette Walker46+2
45Anna Lorck----
46Romy Udanga----
47Rachel Boyack----
48Sarb Johal----
49Naisi Chen----
50Shanan Halbert48-2